‘The Next Big Thing’ blog hop: My WIP

So honoured to be tagged to join this interesting and unusual blog hop. Having never done anything like this before I am feeling my way to say the least. I always find what other writers are working on to be rather fascinating and often inspiring. So let’s hope I succeed on both counts! I was tagged by LK Hunsakerhttp://lkhunsaker.blogspot.com  After you check out my next big thing, go check out her Next Big Thing!

The rules of the blog hop are simple: Answer ten questions about your WIP (Work in Progress) and tag five more writers/bloggers to do the same. A chain of links will lead you to a forest of wonderful writers all busy creating new books for the hungry reading public. Here’s my contribution to the chain.


What is the working title of your book?

“Midnight Gods”

Where did the idea come from for your book?

The quirkiness of people fascinates me and I love Celtic history. So I fell to thinking of marrying an eccentric, reclusive and obsessive family with the darker side of history. Midnight Gods grew out of that thinking and became a story of history, religion, fanaticism and insanity; the licence of the past applied with increasingly dangerous consequences in modern times.

What genre does your book fall under?

Suspense Thriller – murder mystery set in England

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Well, after reviving from the coma I’d slip into upon hearing such tremendous news, I’d have to say I don’t mind. The main characters in this book are mature people and somewhat overweight! So that would present a difficulty straightaway. I look for realism rather than movie glamour in my books, so I have no idea really. Grace is in her early thirties and Peter in his early forties. So if anyone can think of a good match – hats off!

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Upon the disappearance of her friend Ruth, Grace goes to look for her and finds herself gradually dragged into mystery and horror as she uncovers the secret lives of a cloistered and clearly deranged family.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Wouldn’t mind an agency but we all know how difficult, tedious and frustrating a route that is – so for the moment, it’s purely self-publishing for me.

How long did it take to write the first draft of your book?

I’m not finished the first draft yet – about 2 thirds through – and that took me around six months. Hoping to finish it in less time than that, but no promises. This is a romance, a murder, a mystery, a history, a slant on religion and the weirdly mysterious. The plot therefore is fairly complex – and obviously there is some research involved.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Well, it’s a thriller and a mystery so I would (boldly) liken the topic to Barbara Erskine and style to perhaps Nicci French or Minette Walters.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I love history and I love the Celts and the dark ages – and all of that ilk. The old Celtic gods were powerful in their day. The thought that their arcane ceremonies might be remembered in a way that was not simply nostalgic tradition but seriously dark and dangerous stuff, set me off.

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

The book carries several touch points to interest readers. Firstly, it’s a murder mystery, a thriller with plenty suspense and creeping about in the dark. Secondly, the characters are very easy to identify with – they’re ordinary, nice, everyday people who suddenly find themselves up against appalling circumstances. The way they try to cope and the courage they display is exciting to say the least. And thirdly, the dark traditions of the past in Britain – all that myth, damp stone and dark passages – always strikes a cord with both the lover of thrills and of history.


Blogs I’m tagging:

Nicole Storeyhttp://nicolestorey.wordpress.com/

Darlene Fosterhttp://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/

Jeanette Hornbyhttp://jeanettehornbybooks.blogspot.com.au/

Jill Pattersonhttp://theperfectplot.blogspot.com/

Jennie Orbellhttp://jennieorbell.wordpress.com/

9 thoughts on “‘The Next Big Thing’ blog hop: My WIP

  1. Thanks, Malla for tagging me. I really appreciate it. Have a lovely Christmas.

  2. Darlene says:

    Thanks for tagging me Malla!!

  3. Anna Mullins says:

    This sounds like a very interesting read! Will it be available on Amazon?

  4. LK Hunsaker says:

    This sounds wonderful! I look forward to it. Thanks for playing. :-)

  5. jennifer7478 says:

    Sounds great, Malla. I can’t wait for you to finish so I can read it!

    • Malla Duncan says:

      Thanks for your enthusiasm, Jennifer! Very motivating. Just getting a sci-fan romantic adventure out of the way, then it’s back to finishing this novel!

  6. [...] Malla Duncan, a blogging friend from South Africa granted me the Next Big Thing Award.   I had already been given this award but I was so pleased she thought of me I wish to mention it. Malla is an accomplished author who never stops. She is so busy but always takes time to make a comment on my blog. Read about her Next Big Thing here http://malladuncan.wordpress.com/2012/12/18/the-next-big-thing-blog-hop-my-wip/ [...]

Leave a Reply

