Indie writing: review ‘Moondrops and Thistles’

Romance is not usually my reading choice but done well it makes an emotional connection possibly unlike any other genre. Realistic romance is truly a slice of life up for inspection.

‘Moondrops & Thistles’ by LK Hunsaker takes you with detail, care  and honesty into the private emotions of two people falling in love. I loved the main male character, Daws. He was the epitome of the strong, silent type – sure – but he became vibrantly real, a deep thinker, a caring person with old-fashioned values and standards which I warmed to page by page. I fell in love with Daws. There. I’ve said it. I fell in love with a character in a book – something I don’t think I’ve done before. So once that was deftly achieved by the author, I was hooked. I had to know that all would be well with my hero and his love, an equally strong and mature-thinking person, Deanna.

This is not a romance about petulant misunderstandings and froths of pink happiness. Set against the background of army life, the book reveals the stress of military life: the sacrifices, the separations, the horror of war but also the valor, the honor and the weight of responsibility. The men who go to war are not the instigators of that war but do their duty with courage and determination. The women who love and support them deserve admiration. This key aspect lifts the book way above the average romance. It has been beautifully and meticulously crafted in a way that the values and attributes of these two people will not be forgotten. If you love romance that is thoroughly realistic and carries a message, then this book is for you.

Find ‘Moondrops & Thistles’ on Amazon here

One thought on “Indie writing: review ‘Moondrops and Thistles’

  1. lkhunsaker says:

    Malla, thank you! I spent 17 years as an Army spouse and wanted the realism of it to shine through as it often doesn’t in fiction. I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

