One Night ~ the book that wrote itself.

My latest suspense thriller ~One Night~ will be up for free on Amazon on Friday 28 and Saturday 29 September. I know we are all bombarded with free books all the time and sometimes it’s almost a chore to download yet another one. But I do think readers (particularly if you are a writer) may find this one interesting not only from the story point of view, but also the history of the writing of the book.

Because, in fact, this book was written with hardly a change. As you read it is as I wrote it. I made one nifty turn in the middle of the book which was entirely unexpected but which fitted and worked with the plot perfectly. After independent editing, I had around 20 minor errors to correct. That was the sum of the second draft, so to speak. And before you ask…no, I did not have a perfectly set out plot beforehand. I was curious to find out what was going to happen every time I came to my PC to write. So nothing was planned. But the people became so strong, I let them tell their story in their own way.

Was this luck, you ask? Well, I’m not sure. Except to say that writing improves as you continually work at it. And after many years of mammoth re-writing exercises, it seems that finally my brain has got its pattern into gear. This book flew from beginning to end almost too fast for me to keep up. It was an exhilarating ride!

But for me, writing wasn’t always like this. I have torn up, stormed about, slunk into deep depression many times because a scene would not work or a set of characters simply not do as they were told. I want to tell all those aspirant writers out there who are struggling with just these issues, that it gets better. Writer’s block is real and demoralizing, but you can break it. What is important is the veracity of your story. If the characters are truly made real – then let them breathe, let them talk. And your story will tell itself.

2 thoughts on “One Night ~ the book that wrote itself.

  1. LK Hunsaker says:

    Isn’t it wonderful when that happens? For me, that came with Protect The Heart. I wrote and edited it in 2 months total. I had no idea where it was going when it started, but my characters apparently did. I’ll have to check into One Night. Congrats, Malla!

  2. I’ll be sure to spread the word!!!

Leave a Reply

