Book review: ‘Candy’s Man’

I have just finished reading ‘Candy’s Man’ by Jeanette Hornby. From the start, I was taken by the cover – which I thought just gorgeous glam. So it’s been on my TBR list for some time. I must also say that romance is not generally my genre, but I know there are millions who love it – and that’s why I can say with confidence that those millions will love this book. ‘Candy’s Man’ has all the bells and whistles: snappy, slick, with a well-planned plot laden with passion, twists and thwarted desire.

There are beautiful people, beautiful cars, beautiful houses and beautiful clothes. Not to mention the shoes. And enough emotion, tension and unhappy confusions to keep you glued to the story. Will Candy get her man? Rather ask, will Candy’s Man get her? The twists and turns are so adroitly planned, I could not stop reading – I had to know the answers to these questions. I fell in love with all the men, admired all the women’s clothes, and identified totally with Candy’s roller-coaster turmoil of feelings.

This is a book for a glass of wine or a good slab of chocolate, and a self-indulgent afternoon on the couch, away from all working demands. Well-written, well-paced, it is both heart-warming and heated, intriguing and satisfying. If you’re a lover of traditional romance novels, then this one’s for you.

Find ‘Candy’s Man’ on Amazon here

Leave a Reply

